rebound or relapse?

The anxiety is officially back.  It’s not terrible yet, but it’s there and it sucks.  I struggled yesterday to avoid taking any Ativan…I had been off it for a while, and had not had anxiety.  But the possible gastritis two weeks ago brought nausea, so I took it again at about 0.5 mg once or twice a day for a few days.  Then I started the Lyrica, and I stopped it again for a few days.  Then the lyrica brought nausea, so I started back on it at 0.5 mg once or twice a day.  The anxiety started a day or two after I stopped the lyrica, and I’m wondering if this is some kind of rebound from the lyrica.

Or if it’s just a relapse.  Or if it’s a dose tolerance/interdose withdrawal/rebound anxiety from the ativan.  I didn’t think I had been taking it too much, and I had gone a whole week without it prior to the gastritis…then went 4 or 5 days without it, then started again when I discontinued the lyrica and had the nausea (Saturday).  But I’ve kept it to 0.5 mg since then, and never more than twice a day.

This is very frustrating.  I don’t want to end up addicted to ativan, I’ve read that you can end up with pretty bad rebound anxiety from that, and the “rebound” includes when your body builds up a tolerance to it and your blood level dips between doses.

If this is rebound from the lyrica, then I should be able to either stick it out, maybe take the ativan very sparingly and judiciously over the next few days and it will lessen and pass, I hope.  If it’s some kind of rebound or dose tolerance from the ativan, then I’m just kind of screwed because I do need the ativan for nausea right now, so I can’t totally stop taking it right now.  And if it’s a relapse, I’m screwed because it means that I’ll be stuck taking escalating doses of ativan to help control it since I can’t tolerate the other meds we’ve tried for it.

In the meantime, I am trying to get in to see the potential new GI doctor.  I’ll be calling today to see if they had any cancellations.  Wish me luck.

Update:  no cancellations.  Trying not to be too bummed out about that.  I’ll try again tomorrow.  It’s all I can do.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

