Bad day for eating

Yesterday was not a good day for eating.  I managed to have only two shakes.  I think it’s because I pushed it and tried to have a small amount of peeled, baked potato in the early afternoon.  It did not sit well.  I was so bloated and full from just the small amount I ate, which was about a 1/4 a potato.  Prior to starting the mirtazipine, I was able to eat this, but between the mirtazipine, the ?gastritis?, then the lyrica, I guess I’ve lost that ability.  For now.  That is what I am telling myself.  That it’s just for now.  The lyrica constipated me, and I never do well when I’m constipated, it’s like things are backed all the way up.  Or maybe it’s just a more obvious indication that something has slowed everything down.

I’m hoping that this improves as the lyrica gets out of my system.  I’m trying not to get too upset about it.  It’s tough.

I also tried the “three PPI” dose yesterday, well, sort of.  I took my AM dose, and then a half hour before I ate the potato, I took another.  While I didn’t have bad heartburn in my usual pattern (2 hours after eating), I did get it at night and woke up with it this AM.  I’m not sure dosing with PPI three times a day is a great idea.  I would think, if anything, upping the zantac to three times a day and maybe changing PPIs would be a better idea.  In all the papers I’ve read on PPI treatment for GERD, I’ve never seen references to trying patients at three times a day for PPI refractory reflux/heartburn.  Twice a day, yes.  Changing PPIs, yes.  But three times a day?  No.  If someone reading this knows otherwise, please let me know.

I’m starting to get stressed about this.  I feel like without adequate control of my slow gastric emptying, there is no hope for controlling the reflux, i.e. the reflux and heartburn are symptoms of the gastroparesis, not separate entities to themselves.  And I am out of medication options for the gastroparesis.

Feeling a little hopeless today.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

