No help

GI doc called back Monday, after I faxed her a three page note updating her on what’s been going on the last few weeks and asking her basically “wtf do we do now?”

She was not much help.  She said, in regards to my big weight loss and liquid only diet (on which I am still very gastroparesis symptomatic) “ok, well that works for you so just stick with that”.  Yeah, um, how about some nutritional counseling?  My diet just shifted dramatically, it’s clearly insufficient in a macro-scale since I’m losing weight on it, and god only knows how my micro-nutrition is doing.  But nope, she doesn’t think about or care about that.  Then she went on to her “let’s try Lyrica” thing again.  “So I know you proposed that as a neuromodulator for pain due to the idea that it’s visceral hypersensitivity, but the pain is not my most limiting upper GI symptom right now, right now the things that are making it hard for me to eat and drink enough are getting full too quickly, bloating, horrible heartburn/reflux, and regurgitating food.  So what of those symptoms is the Lyrica supposed to help with?” I asked.

“all of them” she said.

Pardon me, but I believe that is a load of shit.

The most I could find was one tiny study done using pregabalin (lyrica) to modulate esophageal pain thresholds in (a very small number of normal, healthy) subjects who were first “hypersensitized” to pain using an acid infusion: Randomised clinical trial: pregabalin attenuates the development of acid-induced oesophageal hypersensitivity in healthy volunteers – a placebo-controlled study (http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-2036.2011.04955.x/full).  Go check it out.  The full text is online.

Even with a charitable view that the results of this study are meaningful, valid, and generalizable beyond the tiny little sample they used (and to the unhealthy people who would be prescribed Lyrica for esophageal pain due to supposed hypersensitivity resulting from acid reflux), they just flat out don’t pertain to the limiting, NON-pain symptoms I described to my GI doctor.

So anyhow, I said fine, I’ll try it. She said she’d call it in that night (Monday) or first thing Tuesday.  We confirm my pharmacy.  She says to try it for a few days and then call her at the end of the week to let her know how it’s going.  Tuesday, I wait until early afternoon, haven’t heard from the pharmacy.  So I call the pharmacy, nope, they don’t have a script from her.  I call her office.  They don’t call back.  Wednesday, I call the pharmacy again, they don’t have it yet.  I call her office and talk to her (awful) receptionist.  She says she has to ask the doctor, calls me back and says the doctor mistakenly called the script in to my mail order pharmacy service, which I have NEVER used.  She says they will send it in to the right pharmacy, I confirm the right one with her.  I wait four hours and nothing.  Call the pharmacy, they haven’t received it.  I call the doctor’s office and leave a polite but terse message saying I was supposed to start this Tuesday, blah blah blah.  I get a call from the pharmacy an hour later, it’s ready.

I started it Wednesday night.  It knocked me on my ass.  So sedated, plus a screaming occipital headache the likes of which I have never had, and I have migraines and once had a concussion.  This was INTENSE.  Thankfully, I was so druggily sedated that I fell asleep fast.  Woke up the next AM with nausea, which is atypical for me even right now.  My “baseline” right now (when I’m not taking vomit-inducing zoloft, motility slowing mirtazipine, or haven’t given myself gastritis from salt tablets and fruit juice) is to wake up with an OK stomach that gets progressively worse as I put food into it during the day.  I had to break down and take a half an ativan for the nausea in the AM and another in the PM.  While the headache has eased up on subsequent doses, the nausea has gotten worse.  The sleep has as well.  The second and third nights on it, it sedated me but I woke up very early (like 4:00 AM) and stayed awake.  So that’s not fun.  It’s similar to my pattern on Gabapentin.  Oh and the lyrica is constipating me.

So here’s the icing on the cake.  I called my GI doctor on Friday even though I had only taken two doses at that point, but because we were going to check in at the end of the week.  She never called back. I’d have preferred to consult with her first for compliance’s sake, but since she can’t be bothered to return a frikkin call she told me to make, I’m just d/cing this drug myself today.  It gave me bad nausea last night and today I spent the first few hours out of bed feeling like I was going to faint.

I’m so done with her.  I hate finding new doctors, and finding new GI doctors is like extra hateful, but I will do it.  I know it’s difficult, I know I’m a complex patient, I know that I’ve pretty much exhausted all my options for medication for gastric motility.  I know finding a miracle worker is not going to happen.  But I am not looking for a miracle worker. I’m a realist.  I am looking for a knowledgable, creative, supportive ally in my fight to stay well nourished and to have some quality of life. She is not that.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

