getting by

I’m back on the ativan, for the nausea and vomitting.  I think I caused the nausea myself, trying to hydrate up my super low BP, I drank fruit juice and took electrolyte tablets.  I am thinking the electrolyte tablets were too much for my stomach.  If this is what it is, and if it holds to the pattern (I think this happened before, it feels very similar to the cycling nausea from January to March), it’ll take about a week for my stomach to heal.  In the meantime, I’ve lost more weight and I need to be able to eat (and hydrate) so I don’t end up back in the ER.  So I am taking low doses of my ativan.  I was prescribed 1 mg three times a day.  The most I’ve taken is 2 mg, divided doses, i.e. one mg in the AM, then a half in the late afternoon when the nausea comes back and another half before bed.

Yesterday was tough.  I was feeling better BP-wise, and had the nausea under some control, so I went out to do an errand and visit a friend (I have a friend visiting while my husband is away, she drove us out and around yesterday, I’m still not up for driving).  Healthfood store for vitamin K supplement and licorice supplements (I figure it’s supposed to help your stomach and I could, quite frankly, use the blood pressure elevating side effects).  Then over to my other friend’s house for a short visit.  Very short.  I got dizzy, headachey, super fatigued, and nauseous and had to leave.  Unfortunately, as short as it was, I waited too long and forgot we needed to stop somewhere to get my visiting friend dinner.  That was a bad ride home.

Some retching that evening.

And less food that I’d like.  I’m down over 10 lbs now.  About 15 total since this shit all started in early June.

And my GI doctor still hasn’t called me back.  Not that she’s much use, but I figured I should update her and let her know (she told me to call).  Jeez she really sucks.

Husband’s coming home early from his conference tonight.  I’m deeply grateful, since my visiting friend can’t stay as long as she’d initially thought, which was going to leave me all on my lonesome tomorrow and I’m still feeling crappy enough on and off throughout the day that being alone really sucks.  I know there are people who have no other option, but if you did have the option, you’d take it.  So I’m taking it.

It’s probably going to be a long medical week next week.

Wish my good luck and some extra spoons.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

