Not quite an emergency…

But in the emergency room nonetheless.  I chose carefully, avoiding the BATHs since it’s July and they are awful unless you have a really good reason to go there.  I don’t, or didn’t yesterday.  I do not go to the ER under circumstances like these to get answers.  That’s what your outpatient docs are for, or if you’re really fucked, that’s what a few days to a week of inpatient is for.  But ugh, inpatient at a Big Ass Teaching Hospital in July?  No Thank You!

Then there’s the big community hospital where my primary is on staff.  He’s only marginally on staff, he’s more appropriately “affiliated” which means i suppose he can write orders on me.  If I thought I was going to be admitted, I’d go there, but I’d prefer it as a direct admit than an ER conversion.  And again, I have a sense of how these places operate and of the “sick person” narrative from the doctor’s perspective, and I did not yet seem to need inpatient.

So given that I just needed urgent management of fluid status (for the floor falling out of my blood pressure readings, yikes, that systolic of 69 was a wake up call, and I’d have thought it an anomaly if my other BPs around it hadn’t been 77, 75, 72, and 70).  And given that my strategy of managing it with PO fluids at home hit the skids when the nausea and vomiting started yesterday, and given that I was feeling worse and worse, my brain was just not firing, I was stumbling when I walked, walking into things, not able to open bottles I normally can open, getting dizzy even laying down flat on my back with my feet propped way up on the leaning tower of pillows, I decided that yeah, it’s time to go.

I chose the little community hospital in the affluent town where I live (I live in the not so affluent side of town, and I rent, so I am not affluent but I can take advantage of it’s ED services).  If you watched the show Parks and Recreation, think Eagleton.

So off I went to the Eagleton ER with hubby yesterday afternoon.  Hard to give my history, what with all the chronic crap, so I didn’t get into it too much except to say “I have a connective tissue disease that has a lot of autonomic symptoms….I have POTS, neurally mediate syncope, I don’t sweat appropriately in response to heat, I pee all the time, and I have gastroparesis.  So, with that all said, these last few days, my blood pressure has really tanked bad – lower than it’s ever been when I’m not passing out.  I’ve been trying to manage it at home with rest and PO liquids, juice and water, gingerale and water, and electrolyte tablets, but today I woke up with abdominal pain, intense nausea, and vomiting and retching.  I only vomited once, but I’ve been having dry heaves all day.  I can’t get enough fluids in, and I can’t eat, and I feel terrible so I think I need to get checked out and try to get some IV fluids at least.”

Then, when triage was over, I hopped up, and promptly sat right back down with my head between my knees saying breathlessly, “Oh, that was dumb, I need a second”.  One quick wheelchair ride later, I was laying flat on a bed in a gown with a competent nurse hooking up the monitor and IV line.  Do not pass go, do not go back to the waiting room.  Go directly to a bag of IV saline, wide open.

My BP didn’t do anything too funny in there.  Of course.  Because I am stressed when I’m in the ER.  My systolic did drop to 38, which won me a commode rather than a walk to the restroom.  “Because then you’d fall, and that’d suck, plus it’d make me look bad…” said my nurse.

So two wide open liters of fluids, one dose of IV valium (for the nausea), and a little bag of IV protonix later (mmmmm, thank you, says my hurting belly), I was feeling much less dizzy.  The nausea went from a 10 to a 3, although by the time I was leaving it was back up around a 5.

And this AM when I woke up, it was back at an 8.  So I took an ativan.

Because Zofran isn’t touching this shit.  And I’m not taking another dopamine-affecting med again, not since I’m pretty sure that all of this mess started with a dose increase of Reglan that gave me some of the nastier Reglan side effects.

Follow up with Primary, follow up with (useless) GI doctor.  I called both this AM.  They love getting these calls on Friday, right?  ;p  Well, I’m not looking to do much more on this until next week.  I want to know that I can take something like Ativan for the nausea, at least until my gut heals (I think I fucked it up with acidic juices and salt/electrolyte supplements.  it’s happened before, but I was in denial and so worried about my BP that I went ahead and took them anyhow….booo, stupid, bad idea…I know).  I also stopped the herbal remedy for my gastroparesis that I had been taking, Iberogast.  Because I looked it up and it has “9 different herbs” in it, 8 of which I think are considered to be ones which can lower blood pressure.  So maybe taking that is not such a great idea.  At least not right now.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

