popovers and pelvic instability

Yesterday was a work at home but take the kitten to the vet in the middle of it day.

I got very little work done.  Some of this was due to the kitten, and some was due to the fact that I’ve been putting off routine housework, cooking, and self care for work.  Or for work related energy.  The work I did do involved massive shoulder pain (this is what happens when my staff is cut, too much for me to do alone) so I decided to call it and take care of house stuff.

I managed to get through sweeping and vacuuming ok – different shoulder motion than typing and mousing and the pain is very much an over-use injury attached to keyboard work.  Then I moved on to making my pumpkin pudding that I didn’t have time to cook over the weekend.  I didn’t have time because I was just exhausted.

Then I got ambitious and decided to do MORE dishes.  It was the dishes that did it.  I turned to put something away, with my feet and legs fixed forward rather than repositioned to be at the same angle as the rest of me, and “pop” went something on the lower left side of my pelvis.  Crap.  Laid down with the ice pack, now ice on the pelvis and heat on the shoulder.  But I really wanted to try making pumpkin popovers.  I had made plain ones a few weeks ago and they were ok but I thought I could do better.  I took this recipe for low fat popovers and modified it.

  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • Heaping tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 – 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • Dash ground nutmeg
  • Dash ground clove
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup lowfat milk
  • 3 and 1/2 tbsp pumpkin purée
  • 2 tbsp sugar

Heat oven to 450ºF. Spray 6-cup popover pan or six 6-ounce custard cups with cooking spray. (I used nonstick cups very lightly greased with butter.) Place all ingredients in blender in order listed. Cover and blend on medium speed about 15 seconds, stopping blender to scrape sides if necessary, just until smooth. Fill cups about 1/2 full.

Bake 20 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350ºF. Bake about 20 minutes longer or until deep golden brown. Immediately remove from cups. Serve hot.

Notes:

  • As usual, I didn’t think to measure and record my modified ingredients carefully, just eyeballed them and hoped for the best. So pumpkin, spices, & sugar amounts are estimates.
  • Use room temperature ingredients and preheat popover/ muffin tins for more “pop”.
  • You can use regular muffin tins. Just less pop.

Even in my ill-tempered oven, they came out pretty good.  photo of cooked pumpkin popover
Not heavily pumpkiny, but I think more pumpkin would weigh them down.  Next time, I’m using more spice too.  A nice treat for sitting on the couch in my now clean living room with ice and heating pads and kitties.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hope you’re feeling better. :/ I had a long, crapper week myself and was too exhausted to get online. EDS is so odd in how we all have different areas that are prone to issues–like my whole upper body and something with my trap/scapula on the left side only. My lower body is rather normal aside from my left knee (arthalgia/OA?) and the horrid left, hip pain from a bad airbed that has finally cleared up. Phew. I snapped my wrist twice this week but am OK thanks to my PT exercises which have made my wrists stronger, so one thing fixed at least.

    I have do to the floors ASAP and am soooo dreading it (vacuuming is the worst). It’s like pushing a cart, which I frikkin hate. I don’t hurt my joints (or so I think), it just KILLS my achy back so glad I only have 300sf to clean.

    Glad your popover turned out, even if it about killed you! I’ve never even heard of a popover, but I wish I could eat a bite (spices, flour, negative).

    Reply
    • Sorry to hear you had a crappy week.

      Work is hurting my upper body, my lower I am doing in just fine on my own. So if I’m not working, other than migraine related neck pain, upper is usually ok.

      Reply
      • Well, that makes sense. When I was still working full-time and sitting in front of a computer half the day, I’d about die between sitting in the chair and holding my arms up to type. It’s not loads better now, but I’d do anything to avoid that experience again. I recall buying weird office chairs, special back pillows, and literally kneeling and squatting at my desk and all to no avail. Ugh!

        It probably wouldn’t help you due to the lower body issues, but when I went to design school and had to do all the drafting and make design boards for hours on end at home, I used a folding table I happened to have that had an adjustable height and was totally fine (but no computer), although I think a computer on that would be better, just not great.

      • I wish I could identify what exactly I am doing that is killing my shoulder. It’s my left side, not dominant. I think it’s my sitting posture and general muscle tension, and I’d modify it if I could but without some feedback (other than the pain), it’s impossible! Grrrr!

      • My injuries are almost always on my non-dominant side (left). It’s due to that side being weaker, hence all the weight lifting I do to strengthen everything. But, despite the muscles popping out of my upper back, my pain is the same and I still pull my trap and some sub-scapular muscle or something. I’d like to know why I can’t sit! Well, I really would give PT a try if you can. It does help and at least you know what you’ve injured–my PT is way better than the MD and we figure things out right away so I can at least work on the injuries, but no luck with the chronic stuff. :/.

Leave a Reply

