even better!

Tried another pumpkin pudding recipe since the previous one, while tasty, had some texture issues.   This is an adapted version of one I found online, I increased the cornstarch; necessary if you don’t want “soft set” pudding.  I also increased the cinnamon, added ginger, and used some brown sugar instead of white and I heartily recommend that you experiment with the spices until you find a mix that is to your liking.  The texture is great.  The eggs add a richness and tempering them before adding them into the mixture prevents you from getting cooked eggy bits in your final product.  Ideally, this should be made in a pot with a curved inner surface, but if you don’t own one (like me), just make sure you scrape the inside lower “corners” of your pot every so often while cooking, otherwise the cornstarch and egg can glob up down there and that’s not so good.

lower fat, lactose free pumpkin pudding (2)

Ingredients

¾ cup sugar (I used ½ cup white sugar and ¼ cup of brown sugar)

¼ cup cornstarch

3 cups low fat, lactose free milk

1 cup canned pumpkin

4 large egg yolks, beaten in a medium bowl

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 dash nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp ground ginger

¼ tsp salt

Directions:

1. Combine pumpkin, spices, salt, and vanilla in a bowl.  Whisk to distribute spices thoroughly and uniformly.   Hang onto that whisk, it’s going to come in handy.

2. Combine sugar, cornstarch and milk in a medium sauce pan over medium heat. Stir frequently until pudding heats up, then stir constantly when it just starts to boil.  Cook for 3 minutes at a low or near boil.  Turn off heat.

3. Slowly pour 1/2 cup of milk mixture into the egg yolks, stirring constantly. This “tempers” the egg yolks so they don’t cook in your pudding pot.  Then pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan and cook on a medium heat stirring constantly for about 1 to 2 minutes.

4.  Whisk in pumpkin, then stir with wooden spoon until the mixture is heated through.

5. Pour into serving bowls and chill.  Takes several hours for the pudding to set.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. So glad you can eat! What’s that? :/ I think you need to make a GP cookbook for real…

    Reply
    • I’ve started a word document with the foods that work. It’s a small set so far, especially since I’m lactose intolerant too. I’m going to try cider angel food cupcakes next week if I have the energy.

      Reply
      • Sounds like a plan! I’m doing the same for my allergist as I demanded to be tested for mast cell (MCAD) after getting nowhere for 1 yr and got a call back that he wanted to see me, so maybe he’s taking this seriously. I can’t take antihistamines, but hoping a MC stabilizer will help at all. The list of bad foods is so long, that I just wrote the 6 or so things I can eat. It’s in a Word.doc too. Haha.

        Good luck with the cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

