Fall food, GP style

It’s Fall.  It’s my favorite season, in large part because of the food.  Summer has always been a chore for me, sapping me of my energy, appetite, and interest in doing much other than lying in a cool, dark room.  Fall means the return of cooler weather, the ability to fire up the stove, bust out my favorite yummy foods – oh and my birthday is this time of year, which means birthday cake (i.e. “cakey tribute”) and other treats.  I was dreading it this year because since my gut decided to go on strike, there is so very little I can eat.  I have, however, discovered a few things that I can now eat that used to be bad when my gut was functional equivalent of the autobahn.  And so I am slowly adding modified versions of a few favorites into my diet, and researching birthday cakes that I can eat.  Here’s what I’ve found.

Birthday cake (and frosting):  A no-no due to the fat.  Fat and fiber have been off my food list since March, well honestly, since May when my foolish belief that I could medicate and still occasionally eat normal food was shattered by a trip to the ER for what felt like a mild obstruction.  See, it’s not just the upper gut that’s slowed down to a standstill.  It’s the lower too.  And when I eat stuff  that my stomach can’t break down, I don’t know if it makes its way into the intestine too “in tact” or what but whoa mama is it awful.  Painful.  Slow.  And painful.  Did I say painful?  Yeah.  It’s power-puke everywhere, pass out level painful.  Some minor experimentation with lactaid icecream revealed that even if it’s low residue, if there’s a high fat content, I will have the upper GI symptoms of gastroparesis – i.e. the days long nausea, regurgitation, feeling like I ate a bowling ball stuffed with garbage, and killer heart burn.  But cake has fat.  And frosting is basically all sugar embedded in a pile of fat.  What the hell am I going to eat?  Then I remembered from when I was living with the diabetic and his undiagnosed (but evident) gallbladder disease for three months that angel food cake (or as some call it “angel cake”) has little to no fat.  Looked it up to make sure and yep, it’s a winner.  What about frosting?  Boiled frosting is an option, but Mr. Patient nixed it, so it’s up to him to make a lemon icing/glaze today for my angel-food birthday cake.

My other two favorite Fall foods, which I had learned to avoid due to the fact that they acted like an accelerant on my already (back then) too speedy gut was pumpkin and cider.  It occurred to me that if cider was a no-no last year due to it making things “move along” a little too swiftly, perhaps now that things were doing the opposite of moving, cider might actually be good.  I’ve had it several times this week and discovered that (a) I missed the hell out of warm spiced apple cider and (b) apple cider plus slow gut = just fine.  As long as I don’t drink too much too late, still got the killer reflux/heartburn now and then and fruit juices always seem to kick it up a bit.  Pumpkin.  I was a little worried about pumpkin because I know it has fiber and I’m avoiding fiber.  But….it seems that this is the “right” fiber.  I think it’s the same as the medication-fiber shit you buy in a package, but I don’t have the same response to that.  That makes me bloated, in pain, and still “stuck”.  Pumpkin?  Let’s just say that it works better than miralax or milk of mag and it tastes a HELL of a lot better.  How am I eating my pumpkin, since I clearly can’t have a pie?  Pumpkin pudding!  It’s like pumpkin pie but only the good stuff.  I had to make my own pudding recipe with some modifications, since I can’t eat lactose laden milk products or high fat, so that cuts out any recipe that calls for heavy cream and the like.  But I found a few that used corn starch as a thickener for lighter milk (2% lactaid in my case) and damn, I made some good pumpkin pudding!

Here’s the recipe I made, but I will be modifying it a little to get a better mix of egg/milk/cornstarch.

6 tablespoons of sugar

2 tablespoons of cornstarch

1 3/4 cups of low fat lactaid milk

1 large egg

1/2 cup canned unsweetened pumpkin (I used a half can)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used about 1/2 teaspoon)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used a bit more than that)

1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

a dash of ground clove

a dash of ground ginger

1/8 teaspoon salt

Combine pumpkin, spices, and salt in a small bowl.  Set aside.  Mix sugar and cornstarch in a saucepan.  In a bowl, beat egg (well!) with milk.  Gradually add the milk and egg mixture to the sugar/cornstarch mixture in pan.  Cook over a medium heat, stirring constantly, and bring to a boil.  Cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly and remove from heat.  Add pumpkin mixture to the pan, whisking constantly.  Return to a low heat and cook for three minutes stirring constantly – do not boil.  Divide pumpkin mixture into cups, mine half filled four small pudding cups, cover and chill.  

This was super yummy.  After a cup of warm spiced cider and potato thyme soup = I almost feel like I’m eating normally, and it’s very seasonally appropriate.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh, yay! You can have a good b-day! I wonder if you have issues with soluble vs. insoluble fiber? I can’t do the latter, but am fine with the former if it’s a food on my list, but no GP as you know.

    Have to tell you the GP acronym is killing me because if you’re from Seattle and not a youngster, GP is Gary Payton (Sonics, also gone). Then it’s that Kirk Franklin song from the ’90s. Lol!

    Well, glad you figured a few more things out. 🙂

    Reply
  1. Fall food, part 2 | Final Trick

Leave a Reply

