authority

Waiting for an authorization to continue my pantoprazole.  You’d think this would be a pretty straightforward thing for the GI doctor’s office to process, wouldn’t you?

Apparently not.  I called Tuesday.  It’s Thursday and still nothing, not just no authorization but no communication from them about whether they need more info.  So yeah, I’m gonna be that end of the week call, a little pissy, a little demandy.  Because they can’t get their shit together?  Not sure what the reason is.  I do know that this method – where the insurance tells the pharmacy, they tell me, I tell the doctor, and they need to then tell the insurance who needs to tell the pharmacy who needs to tell me – doesn’t work so well.

Kinda feels like this, and I’m Harpo, there in the middle, unable to stand up straight on my own all through it:

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Ha! I think that’s my ophthal’s office in there. Do you know that I had a sub teacher when I went to school in the city and it was Groucho Marx’s grandson! Lol. I have to tell you that I fire the offices that don’t refill things or deal with prior-auths. in a timely manner. Really irritating and it does NOT take that long for them to do it!!!

    Reply
    • I love that you met Groucho Marx’s grandson! Marx brothers rock. I remember realizing that some of this old crap was actually really funny, in my late teens, and it was like an amazing gift. I wish someone would take the time to remaster the audio though. The visuals are important but with the Marx brothers, you NEED that good clear audio to keep up. “You can leave in a taxi, if you can’t get a taxi, you can leave in a huff. If that’s too soon, you can leave in a minute and a huff….”

      And that brings me to firing offices. I have too. Not all the time, if they are really good at other stuff, then I will hang on. Probably shouldn’t though because it does do damage to the relationship, and I react to that. Then they just think I’m a “difficult patient”, hence my handle.

      Reply
      • I got you. I think there’s a time when you’ve reached your threshold and then you know it’s time to move on. I have 1 Dr. (I see the nurse) and they make everything sooo easy and are even trying to appeal this issues with my PT being cut very soon. So, I feel they ALL should be like that at this point. I’m too sick to deal with their complacency.

        I know about the Marx bros but not a lot of the comedy. My father has to point out everyone else who is Jewish, so I guess that’s how I got to know them. 🙂 Funny I remembered that teacher–he had the surname, too!

  2. I have learned that it is sometimes the receptionist’s fault, they don’t forward the info to the doctor. My insurance FAX’s the doctor for authorizations and that gets screwed up all the time. I liked the old days where I could just go to Walgreen’s with a script and get it filled.
    Good luck!
    mo

    Reply
    • Hi Mo! Yep, that thought did cross my mind. I called them the next day and they said they were “working on it”. Eh. What can you do. This isn’t going to be the “camel straw” here but it’s getting close.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

