fast

I am fasting.  I hate this because it means no water, and no coffee.  Prepping for an ultrasound of my liver and gallbladder at 10:00.  Really tough to schedule this thing.  It kinda makes you understand why people just go to the ER.  Not me though.  Nope, I med up and go to work.  I was thinking about this yesterday, that most medical providers would assume if you’re ok enough to go to work, you’re not sick.  Or not that sick.  This rule does not apply for me.  I go to work with a BP of 84/47.  I’ve worked with a migraine, not well, but I’ve done it.  If I have a ride and a private place where I can close the door and whimper to myself when I’m feeling really terrible, there’s a lot I can work through if I need to, and right now I  need to since I had a massive sick day use month in February.

So, it’s fasting, ultrasound, then trying to work after if I can manage.  Yuck.  I’m not even sure I can break the fast either, since if the ultrasound is normal, they’re going to try to tack me on as a scope at the end of the day.  So maybe water and black coffee after the scan if they don’t dick around getting me in on time, but that’s it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Oh, that’s no fun. So sorry. I hope it will be worth it in ruling something out. I think you mentioned having hypoglycemia before? I do and absolutely dread any fast. Forget the headache from no caffeine. I never went back for an endo. follow up 3 yrs ago due to it, so probably full of ulcers. Whatever… doc made me wait 3 hrs. I get so shaky and sweaty and sick. In the ideal world, there would be a way for people who can’t tolerate this to get the tests they need done. FYI, I’ve done cholesterol tests both ways and gotten the same results! Also, if you do get the blood sugar drop upon wakening (I need food and FAST), I find that eating steak the night before helps since you digest it slowly (even us!) and then I can just barely get to the lab for tests. I actually don’t get my glucose flagged if I do that! So, next time have husband take you out to a nice steakhouse (I just do cheap kabobs).
    A 🙂

    Reply
    • Earliest AM appointment is usually good if your sugar bottoms out in the AM. Mine is ok when I wake up, 80s. I don’t eat in the AM usually anyhow. My gut’s too touchy. But my body fully expects a slow ingestion of 2 cups of heavily sugared coffee within those first few hours of waking. I managed to snag a cup of black coffee after the ultrasound (which I am guessing is normal because we’re doing a scope this afternoon).

      Reply
      • Glad you don’t wake up about to die like me! Also glad the ultrasound was fine. Phew! Hope this is just the gastritis going crazy for whatever reason (coffee???). Lol. Take care poor one. I can picture you stuck there all day. 😦 Hope it’s not a B.A.T.H.!
        A 🙂

  2. anaphylaxing

     /  March 15, 2013

    Oh gosh, good luck. It never stops for you.

    Reply
    • Thanks Ana – I know most of us are in the same boat. It’s been a not super year. Hoping the scope is elucidating.

      Reply
  3. Wow. I don’t know how you do it. I don’t feel what you feel but am certainly “sensitized” to it through my daughter. I’m amazed at your courage – can’t imagine having to work with such low BP. You deserve a medal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

