Another trick

Here’s a new one.  Back pain, spinal back pain to be precise.  Oh the hits just keep coming.  Last night, in bed, tried to turn over and woah…my back wasn’t having it.  It’s a very circumscribed area and it is exactly on the left side of my spine.  Thoracic.  Yay.  Because I needed that.

My guess is I hurt it coughing.  It does not feel like a muscle pull, unfortunately.  It feels like it’s right smack on the bone.  Even when I’m not turning or twisting, i.e. just sitting here, it feels like someone’s putting out a cigarette on my back.  Crap.  Crap crap crap.

And here I was celebrating because yesterday, I didn’t feel totally awful.  Bad headache as the day wore on that was like having a drill going on my skull by bedtime, but believe me, that was an improvement from how I had been feeling just the day before.  So now my body says “hey here’s a new one” and off we go.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I have a similar issue, but it is definitely a pull of some sort. Left-side, thoracic region, and under the scapula towards the bottom. Usually shows up after waking, but doing my big back exercises helps keep it at bay. PT says that spot is where some big muscle (trapezius?) attaches to the bone. Do you injure more on the left? I almost always do due to being right hand dominant. What’s with the cigarette burning sensation? That sounds like neuro. pain. Well, that spot is a sharp pain for me, less of an ache like elsewhere. I wonder if you pinched a nerve? Hope it goes away and you get 1 day of “normal crappy self” as I call it. 😉

    Reply
    • Yep, I have a painful spot there too but that’s more like muscle pull pain. This little bugger….I had the same thought as you about the burning quality, that it seemed nervey. My dad did so many horrible things to his back, lots of slipped disks, herniated disks, etc. I know that this isn’t that bad, he couldn’t move when he did it. But spine pain makes me worry that we’ve got “bad back” in the family, you know?

      Normal crappy self, yup. Perfect way of putting it!

      Reply
  2. Hmmm… Strange you have that same spot and I agree this sounds more nerve-y. I have mild scoliosis from EDS so who knows what’s going on in my spine? My maternal grandfather had EDS for sure and a very bad back and all the “failed” surgeries. Sounds like your dad. It scares the crap out of me too, but he also had RA so have to add that to the mix.

    Just some thoughts as I’m on vampire schedule per usual, but am really going to bed now. Hate my sleep issues!
    A

    Reply

Leave a Reply

