AM OT, PT, OMG

Knowing that you have a PT appointment in the morning is like having to go to gym class.  It’s usually not as bad as you imagined, but it is still something that makes you groan when you get up in the morning.

That was my experience today.  After waking up at 4:00 AM drenched in sweat.  Again.  I fell back asleep finally, then woke up to a frozen iPhone cheerfully blinging at me that it was time to get up.  Unable to just “snooze” it, I did a hard shut down (yep, half asleep even) thinking “oh hah, I don’t have to go to work today, I’m working from home!”  then fell back asleep until husband’s much later alarm went off.  Then I looked at the powerless iPhone still clenched in my hand, and remembered I have gym class…I mean PT today.  Crap.

I’m working from home today and tomorrow.  Right now, I’m taking a break.  A bad break since I should take a full break from the computer when I’m taking a work break, so say the occupational and physical therapists.  They are right, of course.  I’ve been working for the last hour and a half straight, editing calculus figures for a student who is blind.  This means lots and lots of mouse.  So break away from the computer in a moment.  On a related note, I really need to get a better mic for my dragon use.  I have the crap one that comes with it.  I may as well talk through a tin can with a wire plugged into my line in jack.  USB microphone is the way to go.  I had a gorgeous one that I bought at my last job, it was so fancy and nice.  I need one of those.  So I can blog and stuff without hurting the hands.

I am “discharged” from PT and OT, sort of.  I’ve been going for a month.  I’ve definitely made some progress.  Less pain, and better strength.  Baby steps.  PT guy said that we had two options.  We could do today’s evaluation and then continue to add exercises or we could take a break, I can keep doing the exercises he gave me (really just 4 very low impact things for core strength), and then come back for more PT when I’ve built up the strength. I said “I’m leaning towards option B”.  So B it is.  With the caveat that if I have questions or need a refresher, I can call and come in.  That’s cool.  Works for me.  I’m definitely in the baby steps phase.  I was thinking of making some kind of exercise chart.  I need visuals, otherwise I just sort of poop out and go “meh” and don’t do what I should do.  I’m  thinking something with star stickers.  I’ll post a pic if I make one.

In other news, my husband and I bought a couch as our christmas present to ourselves and we just got word that it’s in and can be delivered soon.  Wooo!  We’re probably going to postpone delivery until February since that’s the first weekend slot that’s open.  I am already working at home today and tomorrow this week (medical appointments, more on that in a moment) and I don’t love the idea of taking another day off right away unless I have to.  So, yay!  New couch is coming!

Tomorrow’s appointment is with the dentist.  I get the first of my four metal fillings taken out of my head.  I’m looking forward to moving a step closer to being metal free but not looking forward to the experience or the aftermath of sucking in metal vapor.  I’m going to ask for nasal O2 and advise them to be liberal with the suction.  From what I’ve heard, this helps.  I’m also going to premedicate with a crapload of benadryl and H2 blocker.  And husband is going with me (a) since I’ll be benadryl drunk and (b) in case I have a bad reaction to the metal vapors.  This is the dentist who said “I’m a little worried about anaphylaxis…”  And kudos to her for even considering it.  I figure that since the dental clinic is not only affiliated with, but also mere steps away from, Man’s Greatest Hospital if I’m gonna have a big awful reaction to having these things taken out, I’d rather have it there.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

