metal free vitamins

Type that into Google and you will find a large number of hits.  Useless hits, unless what you’re looking for are pages with the words parsed thusly:  “….metal.  Free Vitamins!”

Not so helpful for someone looking for vitamins that do not include copper, nickel, iron, etc.  I ran into similar problems using the term  “mineral free”, although variations on that did get me some results that are useful.  It seems there are mineral free multivitamin supplements out there, but they are truly mineral free, as in no magnesium or calcium either.  This is not what I want, but it may be what I end up with since the nickel (and possibly copper) are hell on my stomach.  It’s finally feeling better post multi-vitamin and mineral supplement that I foolishly started (and stopped) taking.  My hair, on the other hand, is actually staying in my scalp, so I think I could definitely do with a multi-vitamin.

I’m a little amused, but in an irritate way, when I run across the “my doctors says you don’t need to take vitamin supplements if you eat a health diet” people.  It’s fine when this is said to someone who IS healthy and whose body actually digests the food they eat.  Not fine for someone like me.  It makes me feel like over-disclosing about my GI symptoms just to give them a little reality check.  I don’t, but it’s tempting.  And then there are the vitamin freaks.  I’m not a fan of that approach either.  I do not think that taking an antioxidant enema is going to fix all my woes and balance my checkbook to boot.  Nope.  And I am fully underwhelmed by the notion of taking so much vitamin C that I actually induce GI problems (seriously, someone told me that…”if it does that, it means you’re taking enough.  Back off a little then build back up slowly to that dose”).  There is little to nothing in my life for which I can muster up that much faith.

I feel like hitting one of the local health food store chains and putting the staff to work.  My experience with these folks has not been great…ok, I’ll not candy coat it.  They have been, in my experience, morons.  However, perhaps they are at least literate morons and can read a pill bottle label.  I imagine going in and saying “I’m willing to buy about $100 worth of vitamins today, but only the right ones.  Who can find me the most efficient multi-vitamin supplementation pill or combo of pills that is lactose free and does not have trace metals, WITHOUT microminerals, but with macrominerals?”  But I have a feeling they’d come back with arms full of malarkey like muscle milk and pomegranate nose spray.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Does taking them separately work? Like a b-complex and then vitamin A or what have you? I like Vitamin Shoppe and many time the folks at Wild Oats/Whole Foods know the products pretty well.

    Reply
    • It does, and I have a set of B vitamins I’m supposed to take. But I have a real problem with taking the handful of pills. I already take a minium of three meds in the AM and four meds at night, and this isn’t counting any acute gut, migraine, pain, or allergy meds I might need to take. I think I could handle it better, but I have a bit of a psychological block about it. When I was little, after I was diagnosed with reflux and lactose intolerance and (so they thought at the time) gastroparesis, my siblings used to tease me that by the time I got to be 30, I wouldn’t be eating any food, just a plate of pills. Add to that stupid comments by health care professionals when they see my med list (“you’re on a lot of medications for someone so young”) and it’s left a mark. It’s dumb, but there it is. And I know I will skip the vitamins if it’s not one or just a few pills.

      Reply
  2. Vitamins… my daughter often refuses to take them as she says they make her nauseous. She is also having significant digestive problems now and is also loosing her hair. Where do we start? I like her to take D, multi, slow release calcium, and magnesium. Any advice?

    Reply
    • I wish I had good advice. I’m trying to figure this out myself. I had thought of going to a nutritionist, but so far that’s never come to fruition. The plain truth of it is that I’ve assumed most of them would be about like the one you and your daughter saw. Yikes. My primary care and the geneticist who diagnose the EDS have both strongly recommended vitamin D supplements and my neurologist was all about the magnesium. PCP also wants me to take more B vitamins, which I sometimes do but I’m not great about it because one of them is super vitaminy tasting and that plus reflux = yuck. My B12 is low though, not surprising since I’ve been on PPIs for 16 years. And my hair was also falling out, hence the hunt for a multivitamin. I’ve settled on a plain, generic from the drug store multivitamin that doesn’t have any minerals in it. I figure it’s better than nothing. I know a lot of people are sensitive to the iron in the multivit/mineral supplements, and I myself cannot tolerate Zinc supplements at all. Super nausea from it. The mineral free vitamins don’t have Iron or Zinc.

      So currently I take a cal-mag citrate (400 IU D, 1000 MG Calcium, 500 MG Magnesium), 500 MG Vitamin C, and one “daily multiple vitamin” (3000 IU Vitamin A, 60 MG Vitamin C, 400 IU Vitamin D, 30 IU Vitamin E, 1.5 MG B1, 1.7 MG B2, 20 MG Niacin, 2 MG B6, 400 mcG Folic Acid, 6 mcG B12, 10 MG Panthothenic acid, 45 MG Calcium). I take these after I eat dinner since I’ve found that in general, I do better with not having nausea after vitamins when I don’t take them on an empty stomach.

      I haven’t had my B and D levels checked in a while – next time I see the PCP I’ll ask about it.

      I do think that taking the D and C helped with the hair since I started taking those more reliably around christmas and I’ve been losing less hair when I shower.

      Reply
      • About a nutritionist, in relies in finding the “one” that will be curious or intelligent enough to read on the condition before meeting with my daughter. We now have an amazing physiotherapist who feeds on Ehlers-Danlos before we get there. What a breeze… I wish all health professionals were that interested in what they do. Thank you for the info regarding your vitamin intake. Our family doctor says my daughter should take 2 or 3 (i forgot) thousand units of slow release vitamine C – for collagen disorder. I have even read about a greater intake for that. What do you think?

      • Linda

         /  March 15, 2013

        What is the brand of your plain, generic from the drug store multivitamin that doesn’t have any minerals in it? Thanks in advance!

  3. Maybe slow release is different, but I tried mega-C dosing and it exacerbated the diarrhea significantly. So I stopped.

    You’re so lucky on the physio! I’m thrilled for you that you guys have someone in your corner who is clued in.

    Reply
  4. Hi Linda,
    My blog won’t let me reply as a reply. Sorry! I hope you see this. It’s “CVS daily multiple vitamin”. CVS is a chain – popular in New England. White bottle, green label.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

