haunting

I woke up to a mysteriously absent wrist brace.  In addition to needing to wear it to type or mouse, I wear it to bed.  My former neurologist explained that “when we sleep, we do this with our hands”, flexing his hands into near claws.  Yep, that sounds about right for me.  But I also get hot.  My hands and feet in particular get red hot and swollen several times a day, worse at night.  I went to bed with the brace on.  I fell asleep with it on.  Then, I took it off.  I do remember taking it off and putting it next to me in bed.  I also remember waking up several times with hand and wrist pain and feeling around for it to no avail.  Crap.  It must be on the floor or something, I thought and went back to sleep each time.  I’ll find it in the morning.

This morning, it is nowhere to be found.

I have ripped the covers apart, checked under the bed, in my messy pile of clothes next to the bed, behind the night stand.  I am left to conclude that my cat stole it….or we have a medical device loving ghost.

Guess I know what I’ll be doing this morning.  Buying a new brace.  Grrrrrr.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I think the way this law of physics works is you will find the old brace precisely two seconds after you buy the new one.

    Reply
  2. anaphylaxing

     /  December 7, 2012

    Maybe it took off with all the unmatched socks from the dryer. Frustrating.

    Reply
  3. Wow. Isn’t that scary? Things like that happen to me sometimes.

    Reply
  4. I found it! Or rather, my husband did. “One last look.” “Ok, suit yourself, but I looked everywhere.” “I found it!” “wtf? where was it?” “on my side of the bed” “I LOOKED on your side of the bed!” “In some clothes” “I looked in the clothes….you know what, I don’t care. I’m just glad I have it. Thank you.”

    Velcro fasteners fastening it into a discarded sweater or mischievous ghost? ;p

    Reply

Leave a Reply

