Reckoning

It’s coming.  I’m nearly out of the short supply of pantoprazole the covering GI doc wrote for me after I was given a half script the last time I saw my GI doc.  I truly dislike the doctor finding process.  There should be an interview stage, where you can meet with them and ask them questions to see if you will be a good fit.  It would save everyone time and I’m fairly certain in the long term save money as well.  Changing docs means repeated procedures, tests, etc.  I can’t tell you how many times this GI doc has re-ordered tests my primary already did.  Usually, I skip them and just tell her to get those results.  Maybe this is part of my “difficult patient” charm, but I see no reason for me to have two thyroid panels within a month of each other just because one doctor doesn’t want to take the time to get and look at another doctor’s results.  Especially not when the ordering doctor isn’t even going to be the one to have to go and get the previous results.  That’s up to the patient.  But it’s dispreferred and I think it has to do more with wanting to be able to quickly look in one (electronic) place for the results than anything having to do with good medicine.

I may (and I say this with some significant reservations) be looking into a pelvic floor dysfunction group – and those groups have GI docs.  Either BATH 1 or BATH 2…not sure which.  BATH 1 is closer, they seem to have a less surgery-centric approach, and they at least mention dysfunction of types other than cystocele and uterine prolapse.  BATH 2 is where my GYN surgeon and gynecologist are.  Both claim to take a multidisciplinary approach, but when you look at their medical staff, BATH 1 has GI, colorectal surgeons, and PT where BATH 2 lists two urogynecological surgeons.

I’m reminded of my naive question at the nurses’ station waaaaay back when I was a wee little newbie worker.  My first “real job” was as a unit secretary on an inpatient surgical unit (the kind of unit that has been changed to outpatient/ambulatory care now that patients are hustled out post op without waiting for the all important eating, drinking, and voiding requirements).  I wondered out loud why so many of our patients were on the GYN services.  The nurses shook their heads at each other, then explained to me that for “female problems”, most of the treatments are surgical.

We had a fair number of GI patients too.  Which brings me back to my main point.  Finding a new GI doc.  Ideally, I want someone who doesn’t think “functional” disorder means uninteresting and not worth her time.  I want someone who sees a diagnosis of a functional disorder as a hypothesis which she is willing to revise or revisit should new evidence – even evidence from systems other than my stomach or gut – present itself.  And I want someone who thinks of ALL of me – who wonders about the sores in my mouth as much as she thinks about the motion of my intestines.  Someone who cares about my nutritional status, someone who recognizes and incorporates into diagnosis, treatment, and general approach that I have some sort of screwy systemic thing going on which may be connective tissue based, may be autonomic nervous system base, or may be both, and which I’ve had all of my life.

Tomorrow I see my gynecologist for a routine check up and we will talk about pelvic floor dysfunction referrals.  I don’t need a referral, but I feel better about having one.  I worry that self referral is another sign to doctors that you’re a difficult and unstable person/patient.

But that’s tomorrow.  Today, I need to call the current GI to ask for a new script.  Bracing myself for this.  I’m guessing it’s not going to be easy since I already called twice about it when I first noticed the screw up and they have yet to resolve it.  This is  the “no, seriously, she needs to deal with this” call.  I hate those calls.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Good luck!

    During my hospital stays in two countries, extensive labs with about ten tubes of blood were inaccurately duplicated. I was in ICU the first time and when I saw the blood culture bottles come out again, I asked were these all supposed to be repeated 3 hours apart (yes the ICU patient with angioedema and ten IV meds running in was the one to notice)—“oh yes”. Of course turns out no. Similar situation triplicated in next hospital stay…at one of the BATH’s as you say ;). seriously…

    then no orders in my chart in ICU. I had to watch the clock and ask them to wake up the resident to order me bendryl every 4 hours as at the time it was the only med I knew that might help me.

    memories 🙂

    Reply
    • Ugh, sounds horrible. Actually, sounds like early summer in a teaching hospital.

      This is why I have strong views on medical records.

      Reply
  2. I out of the same Rx!

    Reply
  3. Not sure where to post this update. Here seems as good a place as any. So, I called around 10:00 AM, got someone at the office and explained about the medication. I was told the doctor would be given the message and asked to call me if she had intentionally decreased the med dose. Otherwise, she’d call it in.

    Many hours later, I called the pharmacy. Nope, nothing.
    I called the GI doc, got someone else who told me my doctor is “out of the country”. “Again or still?” I asked. The offer to give her a message when she got back was proffered, again. That worked so well the last time!

    Chatted with a fellow who called in two months’ worth for me. I guess it really is time to find someone new.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

