hair band or oral surgeons?

I finally had my follow up appointment with the oral medicine department at one of the BATHs Friday.  This was the first time I was symptomatic when I had time off.  I’m glad I waited.  Punch biopsy of palate = a little painful.  I didn’t see the doc I’d seen in January, she’s on leave right now.  I got one of the other attendings, a decent seeming guy, very tall and with long hair.  And his senior resident, also very tall and with long hair.  And a dude they introduced as a “resident” but who I suspect is a fresh out of med school intern.  He did not have long hair – maybe you don’t get to grow it until year two.  My husband stayed in the room, and said at one point when senior resident and attending were bent over looking at my palate, all he could see was a curtain of hair.  LOL.

And so it’s off, the biopsy.  I asked about whether a metal allergy to the components of my amalgam fillings could be responsible for the mouth symptoms.  Well, maybe but we’d expect to see more redness closer to them.  We’ll see.  I asked if they would be able to see evidence of that in the specimen and the answer is yes, so that’s good.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. BA HAAAA!

    but seriously, that is just nasty. It wasn’t tied back? How unsanitary!

    Why are you having the biopsy? Sorry if I forget

    Reply
    • The biopsy is because I have this recurring mouth thing – palate and tongue get red and swollen, the palate gets ulcerations on it, the tongue just gets sore, hot, and smooth. And there are often blisters along the cheek and gum line of my molars. This flares up pretty often and it is painful. It makes me not want to eat.

      What will the biopsy show?
      – Evidence of allergic reaction, if it’s bad enough, but this is non-specific.
      – Candidasis. Dr. Bee Gee thinks it’s erythematous candidasis and even gave me a script for fluconazole. If it candida, it’s rather resistant since it’s been treated with several full courses of clotrimazole troches and fluconazole. (Also, if it is candida, it does raise the question of why someone with a supposedly intact, normal immune system has chronic candida overgrowth).
      – Cell changes that go with cancer, or precancerous lesions.
      – I’m sure that one could see evidence of malnutrition/vitamin deficiencies and/or autoimmune stuff but again, I think at least the vitamin deficiency is likely to be non-specific.

      There’s a preview available of a textbook, page 178 is where the soft tissue chapter starts. Interesting reading, gross pictures (but my mother already desensitized me to that with her nasty books from nursing school). http://www.scribd.com/doc/39815107/Essentials-of-Oral-Pathology-and-Oral-Medicine

      Reply

Leave a Reply

