Have migraine, will travel

It’s been a migrainey week, which sucks because I have a friend visiting (she’s in the shower right now, so time to catch up on some blogs) and it’s getting in the way of doing pretty much anything other than sitting on the couch with an ice pack on my head.  😦  Blerg.  I did manage to get out and get the mani/pedi, fun.  My toenails are now a lovely frosty plum.  Pretty!

My husband sent me an email, a call for recruitment for a migraine study at B.A.T.H.  (the granddaddy of all BATHs in fact).  So I thought I’d forward it along.  This is actually from the web-based research participation recruitment postings.

Investigation of Migraine Pathophysiology and Treatment Mechanisms using MR-PET

RESEARCH STUDY
Do you suffer from migraine headache w/Aura?

* You might be eligible for a brain research study on
migraine held at Massachusetts General Hospital

Participation involves:

* 2 visits to the MGH A.A. Martinos Center for
Biomedical Imaging

* 1 MRI-PET scan of your brain – the visit will
take 4-6 hours

* PET involves injection of radioactive tracer in
the blood.

* You will be paid up to $200.

Please Contact:
Caterina Mainero, MD, PhD.:
caterina@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu, 617-724 7746

Principal Investigator:
Nouchine Hadjikhani, MD, PhD.
MGH-NMR Center

Institution  –  MGH – Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Principal Investigator  – Nouchine Hadjikhani, MD, PhD
Enrollment Information
For further information about enrolling a patient in this trial, contact the person below.
Name  – Caterina Mainero, MD, PhD
Phone  – 617-724 7746
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Anaphylaxing

     /  July 12, 2012

    have you ever tried an antihistamine like benadryl for your migraines? just something my family is trying out with all our weird reaction based issues.

    Reply
    • Shoot. I tried replying and i think it got eaten.
      I have tried Benadryl, although not in a controlled way. I’ll give it a shot. I just started a rather high dose D supplement since my vitamin D level was super low, that my help too. Gosh I hope so, it’s been a long migraine week.

      Did screening for the study. Too long for the scanning sessions for me. I have too much joint pain to hold still for a long time, even if I am lying down.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

