Am I blue?

When I was very, very young, my mother tells me, the doctor had to take me over and hold me up to a window to see my pupils.  “That’s how dark brown your eyes were!” she says.  They aren’t that dark now.  They’ve faded some, which is good because in my pale, long face, nearly black eyes look super creepy.

One thing that she never commented on but which I noticed was the blue tinge to the whites of my eyes.  Having read somewhere that blue tinged sclerae (yeah, I now know the word…we can thank Dr. Ex for adding this to my vocabulary) were associated with beauty – read it in some fashion rag or something that advised using blue eyeliner to make the whites of your eyes seem whiter, I always was aware of this blue tint.  I hadn’t given it any thought recently though until running across it listed as a sign of Ehlers-Danlos/connective tissue problems, which I was recently told I probably have.

Ok, so how blue are they?  We’re not talking 1984 Dune spice addict-blue, but they’re fairly blue.  I took some pix this AM, a few by ambient room light in two different rooms and one at the window just when a watery sun was coming out.  Here there are.  Judge for yourself.  Am I blue?

1.

Close up photo of woman's left eye.  Brown iris and blue tinted sclera.

Ambient room low lit.

2.

close up photo of woman's eyes.  Brown irises and blue tinted sclera.

Ambient room and window lit.

3.

Close up photo of woman's eyes.  Brown irises and blue tinted sclera.

Day lit with weak sun.

As a point of comparison, here are some (links to) images from sites on EDS and blue sclera:

From Rheumatology image bank, Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Type IV: Blue Sclerae

From Clinical Challenge, Patient With Anemia and Blue Sclerae

From Rush University Medical Center’s Connective Tissue Disease Clinic, blue sclera in Osteogenesis imperfecta.

I know that blue tinging is also a sign of iron deficiency, which, given my current nutritional status would hardly be surprising.  Two things suggest that this is not the cause though.  1st is the long standing, non-fluctuating history of my eyes having this color.  2nd is that my primary care has checked my iron and ferritin levels in the recent past and they haven’t hit a flagged level (although my RBC is slowly and steadily dropping and I do have some lab evidence of pernicious/macrocytic anemia – MCV is always a bit high, RDW is usually low, which I think means that most of my red blood cells are on the big and bloated side).

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. queenofoptimism

     /  May 12, 2012

    I see blue for sure. Fascinating. Damn Ex should have caught this. Heehee. I’m behind on reading the comprehensive how the docs got to Ehlers-Danlos. And, I’ve been off of the patient blog block for a little while. I’m even forgetting abbreviation meanings. So please excuse the multiple questions and comments received today as I try to catch up. Because I want to.

    Reply
    • I have some smeary looking darker blue on the right eye I think – like the “white” has eroded? but it was too hard to get a picture of. I tended to discourage ex from using me as a diagnostic guinea pig. His remarks about things like dermatographism, urticaria, my vasculature, etc, I tended to shush away quickly. The blue does make me a little more trusting of the recent EDS diagnosis though.

      Reply
      • queenofoptimism

         /  May 12, 2012

        (I definitely get it re: ex especially since he still had a ton to learn.)

        Wow. So here you are with an EDS dx. Wow. I’m stunned. Like, how, what, why, millions of questions. Not knowing how to support you through this. I am a skeptic right now. Of your medical team. Not because I know Much of anything about EDS but because of the myriad of serious conditions you have and I worry. How are you? Really. How are you??

        I have an online friend Susan who has EDS and has an east coast team of providers. I can try to connect you to her.

        Wishing you all good things as you enter this new phase with health and career.

        I’m hoping you find just the right position that can best match your desires and scheduling needs. I hope karma is listening: it’s time for things to be going your way.

  2. I guess a little blue, but I wouldn’t have noticed unless you pointed it out. My eyes have got scars from surgery (but at least that’s not a deficiency).

    Reply
  3. Alanna

     /  July 25, 2012

    Hello,

    I came across your site while researching EDS. I currently receive health benefits through the military, with my parents being in the Air Force. For some reason, the doctor that they force me to see has absolutely no interest in listening to a 19 y/o civilian. Either that or he’s a complete idiot. So I’ve resorted to researching for myself.

    I have voluntary subluxation of BOTH shoulders; hyper flexibility and chronic pain in my ankles, knees, wrists, and shoulders; and “stretchy skin” and easy bruising, among other things that I’d rather not share with the www lol. I also think I have blue sclerae, but I’m not sure. Anyways, I was wondering if I could talk to you more about it and ask some questions since you seem to know what you’re talking about. I’d really appreciate it! Let me know.

    Thanks,
    Alanna

    Reply
  1. Blog: Am I blue? (EDS and Eyes) « EDS Alert Newsletter

Leave a Reply

