Merry christmas to me

I have this week off.  Last week, I had a “work at home” week since the facilities folks decided to paint the interior of our building without any notice to the four staff member still working there last week.  Day one was headaches, sore throats, and stinging eyes from the fumes.  Boss came back from a meeting to a building full of fumes and all the staff but me gone and said “Please, feel free to work at home until this is done” and so I did.  Very nice.  This week, I am home and sans responsibilities, work-wise at least.  At some point, I will clean for company who are coming tomorrow afternoon.  But since most of them won’t be staying here and since I just did a “big clean” on Saturday, I’m not going to stress over this too much.

So today I have booked a manicure and a massage.  Ahhhh…..just what I need.  If I can stand braving the after christmas mall, I may also stop in for a threading session.

Man, it’s nice to have time off.  I can finally get to some of the personal maintenance things I usually have to back burner (repeatedly) during the work week.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. queenofoptimism

     /  December 27, 2011

    Yes! Merry Christmas to you. Beside lumps sums of cash from a forgotten uncle, a break seems like the best gift for you. Forget cleaning up your home – focus on the personal maintenance and enjoy every deep breath and compliment. ❤

    I'll be thinking of you and your company. Remember: their issues are theirs and you owe them nothing extra – they clearly do not respect your boundaries.

    P.S. I want to write new boss a thank you letter for being a step up. And sensible about having staff leave the intense renovation area.

    Reply
    • Thanks Queen – I will keep the in-law issues in mind. On the plus side, it’s not just me who’s annoyed with them right now. That helps.

      My nails are now a sparkly deep pink and I am massaged. Skipped the mall, I decided I didn’t need that chaos in my relaxing day. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

