World’s greatest boss?

Still feeling like urgh.

I dragged my ass in for freshman move in day today, late, but there.  My boss came through my office about a half hour after I got in.  “How are you feeling?”  he asked.  “O.k.,” I said.  “You don’t look ok.  You know, if you want to leave and work from home, that’s alright with me,” he said.  I told him that I can’t leave right now since I got a ride in, and that I didn’t feel great but that I had really wanted to be there today.  He responded “How far away do you live?”  After I told him (not far but not super close) he laid the jaw dropper on me:  “I can give you a ride.”

omg.

Seriously.  An offer to work from home and an offer to get me there too?  This has not been an easy transition for him and thus for the staff who he supervises (including me) it has been a bumpy summer, but he seems like a genuinely nice person.  I won’t forget that he was so kind today when I really desperately needed it.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. queenofoptimism

     /  August 28, 2011

    Finally! Support and kindness on the job. This is significant.

    Reply
  2. Indeed. But you know, I feel like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop. It’s a way of life for me. I try not to let it stop me from appreciating something good while I have it though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

