some like it hot

But not me.

I started overheating in the lobby at the MRI today.  “The room is usually pretty cold,” the tech told me after explaining what clothing I had to take off and what I could leave on.  She handed me a gown “This might help.”  “Oh, I don’t think I’ll be needing that…I like cold.”   While I was waiting for her to come get me in my stripped down state, I took the opportunity to drench my head with cold water from the sink in the rest room and sponge off my arms and neck.  Ahhhhhhh….

We got into the room.  It was not cold.  “This might be a problem,” I explained that I am “one of those people” who is always hot.  Not entirely true but true enough and easier to explain in this context than the full truth.  And you know what?  The tech got someone to crank the A.C.!  I want to send her flowers or something.  It made a not very pleasant experience into something that I could at least get through.  Yay MRI tech!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. queen

     /  May 25, 2011

    Hooray! She listened and responded. That’s so foreign from what we know, isn’t it? It’s typically too hot so subject (you) moves too much and images..blah, blah. Repeat test to encounter another barrier.

    I’m missing where you – why mri now – what body part? Hoping it’s cooled down. Thinking of you.

    Reply
    • Hi Queen,
      I know – I had a lot of anxiety since the last MRI was so uncomfortable. This one was much better. Good to have a less rotten experience in there to counter the bad.

      It was an MRI of my neck, well, cervical spine I guess. And it was because I complained of some pretty bad neck pain at my migraine appointment with my neurologist. And because he felt I didn’t do well on a hand strength test. I’m not holding my breath that it’ll show anything, you know, I just have that automatic response we get from so many tests that show nothing or nothing grossly abnormal enough to explain symptoms.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

