Drink! Drink! Drink!

I need an internal chorus of this to remind me to drink more, well to drink more than coffee.  I do drink water, but not as much as I should.  Coffee, I never forget to refill my cup (keeping it below 3 cups a day).  And it seems that lately I’ve been more dehydrated than usual.  How do I know I usually am?  Because of the orthostatic vital signs frequently taken at my doctor’s office.  Nearly every time, it’s said either to me or to the doctor in the hall as the assistant/nurse leaves the room “well, she’s dehydrated…”  How do I know I am more so than usual right now?  Because every time I stand up, I get that brain sucking, vision graying, wobbly kneed, pounding pulse feeling…and when I’m up and moving around (e.g. getting showered and dressed for work in the AM), my heart is slamming hard and fast.

It’s not like I deprive myself of fluids.  But apparently I don’t drink enough.  Today I resolve to drink more water.

So am I orthostatic today?  Looks like it.  I know there is some debate on the proper way to to check this stuff, but I’m going with how my doc’s office does it.  Laying down, my BP was 104/64, hr is 73.  Standing (as passively as possible) for 10 minutes, BP dropped to 87/58, hr went up to 108.  Is this from being dehydrated?  That’s what today is meant to address.  If I drink more and still feel this shit, then no, it’s probably not.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. R. G. Maines

     /  February 8, 2011

    Oh, I can relate. I know I don’t drink enough either. I start out with good intentions. I get myself a big tumbler of ‘liquid’, usually iced tea, and I got sit down. I drink from this tumbler all day. Around dinner time I realize it needs refilled.
    The other day, I only drank one tumbler of liquid all day. I find that I’m just not thirsty.
    Now, for the irony of ironies, I retain fluid in a BIG way!!! The question is, where is all that fluid coming from? hmmm? (rubbing my chin)
    (Hugs)

    Reply
    • That is it EXACTLY. I do the same thing. I have a whole case of sports bottle spring waters sitting at my desk at work. You’d think I’d drink more. Maybe I need to make a desktop background with a picture of a water bottle to remind me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

