back to reality

First day back to work today.  I stopped in on Friday to get my parking permit only to find out that HR hadn’t forwarded the documentation as they had said they would.  Lovely.  So I get to run around when I get in today.  Ah, there’s compliance and then there’s compliance, right?  And I know my employer’s approach to this based on what my boss said of another temporarily disabled employee who needed a ground level office accommodation for a broken leg – I was instructed not to get her everything she needed because my boss was hoping that the employee would give up and just go back to her office when she realized how inconvenient it was to work in the temporary office space.   Yes, that’s a little nugget I’ve been kicking around for a while now.  I was horrified when boss lady did it and I remain horrified.  Talk about creating a hostile environment.  But HR is non-responsive to this sort of complaint, I know from personal experience that their involvement only makes things worse.  They do not take this sort of thing seriously at all, unless regarding the complaining employee as a trouble maker falls under “taking seriously”.

So, wish me luck today and in the coming weeks at work.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. R. G. Maines

     /  January 31, 2011

    Wish you lots of luck!! I wonder if your employer knows that providing ‘reasonable accommodation’ is required by the Americans with Disabilities Act? They are obligated to do so!

    That’s the one thing about working that I don’t miss, the petty inner office back-stabbing and politics that go on. My experience was similar in that management/supervisors were conniving and deceitful individuals who would go out of their way to challenge their employees, make life difficult.

    Reply
  2. Oh they know about the ADA and about FMLA and all that. They really do, not necessarily well but they know about the laws. I’ve often found ignorance is much more frustrating when it results in partial knowledge rather than absence of knowledge. I think when it’s utter absence, there’s a better shot at truly curing the ignorance (e.g. “ADA, what’s that?”) as opposed to when someone knows some of something but thinks they know all of it…

    There’s politics for sure. Also, my boss is insane.

    Reply
  3. R. G. Maines

     /  February 8, 2011

    Insane? I had one of those too! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

