not welcome

You know how in your WordPress dashboard you can see what the search terms are that brought people to your blog?  Get a load of this:

screen shot of "top searches" for blog traffic, underlined in red are "how to fool a doctor to get on disability" and "how to trick your doctor to upping your pain meds"

are you fucking kidding me?!

Gaaaah! What the hell is wrong with people?  See, this is why I think I am not actually a pessimist or a cynic…Because things like this actually surprise and dismay me.  If I were truly a pessimist, if I actually thought the worst of people, I wouldn’t be so taken aback to see shit like this.  Someone is sitting out there, probably at work, googling crazy shit like this.  And it’s thanks in no small part to assholes like this that medical providers are so unfortunately quick to make rather nasty assumptions about patients.  Oh I know that there are provider characteristics at play too, but I’m sure that there are people out there who are not dicks but who have had one too many dealings with a scheming, foul fuck.

You’ll have to excuse my extra spicy language today.  I’m in a rotten mood – I spent the day yesterday waiting for HR to get back to me on what should have been a relatively simple request but which they managed to confound and tied up in a morass of misapplication of ADA, all of which confounding was triggered by the kind of suspicion that is justified by the existence of the sorts of assholes who google ways to pull off various medical scams.

More on that later.

I guess I should be very happy I have a primary care doctor who still tries despite the existence of this sort of rotten person floating around and pissing in the patient pool.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. omg, that is shocking ! But there are many twisted people out there sadly. Hope you don’t let it get you too down, they’re not worth it ( btw – how do you see your search box thingy lol , bear with me I’m new to this !! )
    x

    Reply
  2. Ah, to get to the search terms thingy – you need to be signed in to wordpress. There are two places to find this. One is on the dashboard, under “stats”. In my dashboard view, Stats is off to the right, midway down the page. There is a bar graph with visits by date, and under that is “top posts (the past week” and “top searches”. “Top searches” is where I found this lovely info.

    Alternately, if you’re on your blog (and not in the “dashboard” area), you should see a bar at the top of the page that says “my account”, “my blog”, “blog info”. Hover the mouse over “my blog” and select “site stats”. This takes you to a page with a bar graph near the top, and two columns (again, by my layout…not sure yours will be the same!). The second box down in the left column is titled “search engine terms”, with tabs for “today” and “yesterday” and a link off to the right for “this week”. Click “this week” and it will show you the top search terms for the past 7 days, with options to view by 30 days, quarter, year, and all time.

    But beware! It could be creepy! lol. I hope that was detailed without being overloaded.

    Reply
  3. R. G. Maines

     /  January 31, 2011

    I’ve found that most of the people who find me use ‘search terms’ regarding estrangement from their sisters, which I find very very sad. I would rather think my situation was unique, not because I think I’m special, but because I don’t want to think about other people going through the emotional torment and pain that I have with my estranged sister.

    What you’ve found as ‘searches’ also has contributed to how difficult it is to get Social Security Disability. They immediately think everyone is ‘faking’ and trying to use the system. They have become terribly suspicious of everyone, therefore most people typically have to apply several times and often get an attorney to assist them in getting their benefits.

    It all boils down to one thing (for me), if people would only think about how their actions effect others, life would be so much easier for so many.

    Reply
    • Wow, that’s really sad. It probably helps people to find your blog though and to feel like they have others to share their experience. It’s a terrible, heart wrenching thing but so much worse when you feel like you’re the only one going through or living with something like that.

      re: the “scammy” jerks…I’m sure this is one of the major things that makes applying for (and getting) social security so horribly difficult.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

