christmas day – a visitor

My sister was over christmas eve.  As usual, she asked about the little “caramel colored kitty” who lives outside my neighbor’s house.  “I haven’t seen her since about a week before Max died” I told her.  I’d made a few trips up the driveway behind my neighbor’s house to see if the kitty was around and asked about her to the woman who lived in that building.  I saw no sign of the cat, but the neighbor assured me that she and several other cats were living back there under the porch.  “Oh it’s so sad!” the neighbor lamented.  This neighbor had previously tried to convince me to take in the kitty but back then, Max was still very much alive, and Max didn’t like other cats one bit.  I told her this.

So on christmas day, after not seeing the caramel colored kitty (she’s a black and brown tiger with a lovely warm, light brown coloring on her belly and legs), we found her.  She greeted me with her usual running, long meow “maa-aaaa-aaa-aaa!” as she trotted along, tail up and green eyes shining.

By Christmas evening, she was set up on our glassed in front porch.  By late Christmas night, she was in the much warmer basement with a makeshift litter box (which, to my delight she more or less knows how to use), a can of cat food, and a little bowl of water.  Also, a box with bedding in it which she chose not to sleep in, opting instead for the orange cloth suitcase perched atop a waist high stack of folded moving boxes.  That’s where I found her sleeping this morning.

small brown and black tabby cat on a chair.

Anya, getting comfy in her new home.

And so today, my husband and I plan to brave the swirling, developing blizzard to go get some flea and tick drops so we can let her in to our home for more than a few minute, highly monitored visit.  I’m deathly afraid of ticks, having caught lyme disease in 2002 from sitting outside patting a quasi-stray cat at my old apartment in the New England Outback.

The cat has a tentative name:  Anya, after a character in the Buffy TV series.  It seems to fit.  I’m going to try to get her in to a vet this week, I’m off work for the week and I think I should be able to manage this.  We’re hoping she’s healthy – she seems to be but until we get her checked out, I won’t feel comfortable fully letting down my guard and bonding with her.  She is quite cute.  I hope this works out!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. queenofoptimism

     /  December 27, 2010

    Oh my goodness, you can totally see her personality in the pic! I’m really hoping it works out with the little demon (I had to ask my husband re: Buffy – I never watched over his shoulder). Timing can be a strange thing.

    I’m thinking of you lots and sending good healing vibes your way!!! An good luck for no fleas/ticks. I somehow missed that the Lyme tick was from a cat. ugh.

    Reply
  2. She’s very cute. Right now, she’s exploring a closet. Actually, I think she maybe napping in the closet, she’s been in there a while. We’ve been following a close tick check protocol and now that the flea/tick goop has had time to work, I’m ok with having her out and exploring the apartment on a more permanent basis. She spent last night in my office after we tried putting her back in the basement (meeeeoooowwww!) She seemed ok with that. Tonight will be her first night completely free to roam. Let’s hope she behaves!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

