Sickness is the mother of invention

Or at least of innovation.  I can’t claim to have invented macros in MS Office but I can claim to have put them to very good use.  Every semester, I oversee about 200 final exams.  That’s usually several students per test, so it ends up being about 150 to 180 unique test time and courses I am processing exams for.  In the past, I’ve done it the hard way.  I’ve copied and pasted each relevant field from each god damned row in Excel into the various documents that need to accompany the tests to make sure they are administered and returned properly.

This year?  I taught myself how to do macros.  And merges.  Oh man, if you’re not doing this yet you need to learn!  I printed 150 sheets, handed them to the student workers and said “get going!” with creating the test packs.  Life is so much better with tech.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. queenofoptimism

     /  December 2, 2010

    Wow! Awesome! Perhaps you can teach me these tricks via a webinar.

    nice going!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

