Just do it, sort of

I’ve been thinking for some time that I need to get in a pool, and not with a twitty physical therapist.  On my own, not using my unreliable ankles for pivots, and not doing more than about 15 minutes at a pop.

However, this is not as easy as it sounds.  I’ve looked.  Health clubs with pools are, for some reason, scarce – at least in my area.  There’s one.  It costs a buttload.  The Y?  Looks better, a little more affordable, so I looked over the programs and pool schedule.  I’m not loving it.  I don’t want to swim with kids.  I don’t want to do laps.  Maybe I can do pool exercising for grannies (now called something vague like “easy does it, formerly senior swim something”), that looks promising.  Except you can’t schedule in advance.  Classes are on weekdays at 11:00 AM and would be participants need to show up an hour before to book in.

Er…. no.

I’m not giving up.  I’m going to call, and failing that, show up and ask.  Here’s what I need:  I only want to use the pool.  I want to use it to paddle around in, not doing laps but also not swimming with toddlers.  I want to do this in the early evening or on the weekend but I will make time in my work day schedule if necessary.

While I’m hoping this will be possible, I’m not running out and getting my legs waxed just yet.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. R. G. Maines

     /  June 22, 2010

    A couple of years ago, I looked too. The only exercise that’s recommended for me is swimming, and more important than the swimming, I’m told, is for me to get in and tread water, just to take the pressure off my joints and pelvis.

    Our Y is incredibly expensive, at least where our pocket book is concerned. A membership to a ‘health club’ is way more pricey than the Y.

    We live 2 blocks from the local public pool, which offers an hour long ‘adult swim’ before the pool officially opens. The fact that I’m morbidly obese keeps me from swimming in public, with ‘grannies’ or kids.

    I’m interested in how you resolve your need for a pool, perhaps I can get an idea for what might work for me.

    🙂

    Reply
    • I know..I’m shocked at how expensive the Y is! They have financial assistance, but I think I probably wouldn’t qualify. I have a reimbursement through my health insurance but it only covers about 1 month of membership! There’s a disability program, but I’m guessing they still charge full rates. That is, I didn’t see anything online to suggest otherwise.

      I’m going to look into the public pool option too. I know where it is (one of the perks of living in the town where I grew up…I know where EVERYTHING is) but there’s no info online. Adult swim would be ideal. I’d love to say “screw them” as far as the body image thing goes, but I know that this is stupid of me. Not even grannies though?

      I’ll let you know how it goes. I was thinking treading water and kick board use would be good. My ankles and knees just can’t take even a reduced load for a work out/repetitive motion.

      Reply
  2. queenofoptimism

     /  June 22, 2010

    Two thoughts –

    1. If there is a physical therapy facility with a pool nearby, you may be able to pay a fee to use it without a physical therapist. All 3 PT centers I went to offered self-pay access to their facilities at very reasonable rates, though only one I went to had a pool.

    2. I’m not sure if you are joking about body image or are comfortable. I’m a freak when it comes to these things so I bought a SlimPerfect swimsuit and I feel cute in it! It’s the 1st suit I’ve had in many years and I would totally wear it to the lazy river with my kid.

    I hope it all works out for you!!!

    Reply
    • Queen – what a great idea! Thank you!

      Body image – it’s a little weird for me. I’ve spent a lot of my life underweight. Since that’s the idealized (i.e. fake) image that’s presented, I didn’t suffer too much. Although interestingly, it’s clear that I’ve absorbed that crap when it comes to self perception because when I do gain weight, I think I look heavy. It gets me down when my clothes stop fitting. Gah, I’m in one of those cycles right now in fact. I try to remind myself that I didn’t think I was especially attractive at 113 lbs either.
      Right now, I just want one of those old fashioned bathing suits from the 1920s so I don’t have to shave or wax. ;p

      Reply

Leave a Reply

